New chapter – Customer Services Librarian

I started a new chapter: I have been appointed Customer Services Librarian at Leys Institute. My first day was the 6th of April 2010, one of the busiest days in community libraries: first day after Easter, Tuesday, and first day of school holidays. Hooray!

I share my new job with more experienced Librarian and this seems to be a perfect arrangement: I have a chance to learn on the job from the best person and still have some extra time to pursue my MIS studies. The position is temporary, until the end of October 2010. It gives me 6 months of extraordinary experience.

But my adventure as Customer Services Librarian begun one week earlier: I acted as a first-aider in an accident involving one of our senior patrons. I would never learn that much about first aid in a public library as what I learnt in that 30 minutes of the incident. As my manager commented: “You will never learn these things in a library school”. How true it is…

I decided to write my thoughts on first aid and accidents  in a library for future reference:

– Be aware of patrons, especially seniors and kids, inside the library, but have your eyes and ears open for noises coming from outside the building too;

– Know where your first aid kit is and what it contains;

– Know  your library address and telephone number and how to get there.

– Keep calm and reassure yourself you are doing everything you can think of now.

I am going to book myself for the next available First-Aid refresher course to keep myself more confident in case of another accident… You never know what can happen while on desk duty…

Leave a comment